I’m shaking things up around here!


Instead of doing a focused review every couple of weeks, I want to take a more casual approach to blogging about fragrance. I am hoping to post often and have fun while doing it!


There’s no better time than now to try this new approach, so here goes.


This week, I tried a couple of new fragrances; Estee Lauder Azurée and an oud fragrance that I will not name until I have tested it again (keep reading and you will discover why).



I was suprised by Azurée, a fragrance described by Luca Turin a “citrus leather” (he gave it 5 stars). I was expecting bright and sunny but found it more like sitting in the shade. That isn’t a complaint, because frankly, I can’t carry “bright and sunny”. I’ve got too many dark clouds with permanent resident status about my person!

The notes that really stood out to me were basil and vetiver, which provide the grassy, herbal “shade”. Azurée has just enough citrus and aldehydes so some sunshine does filter through. I smelled a touch of leather upon round two of testing, but further testing will no doubt reveal more.

Testing the oud fragrance that shall temporarily not be named began last night shortly before bed time. I dabbed a small amount on my wrist and for the next thirty minutes sniffed with pleasure until I decided to stop messing about and go to sleep.


A few hours later, I woke up with a cat in (on!) my face, demanding to be fed. I offered cuddling as a meal replacement, but Mr. Cat prefers meaty goodness at 3 AM.

Who woke you up at 3 AM? Not me!

I dragged my butt out of bed, and heading towards the kitchen, I lifted my wrist to my nose and sniffed, deeply inhaling the delectable scent of……piss? Like the kids say today, I was all like WTF?


Stay tuned for round two of testing!


Yesterday I wore two of my all-time favorite fragrances. In the afternoon I wore Chanel Egoiste, a fragrant reminder of my favorite city, Montreal. In the evening I applied a few healthy sprays of Coco de Chanel, which made me feel fabulous despite the marmy floral nightgown I was swaddled in.


What are some of your all-time favorite fragrances? 

PS: If you have any comments/criticisms regarding my new approach, let me know!

*Photos belong to yours truly.

