Guerlain’s Attrape Coeur was composed by Mathilde Laurent and released in 1999 as Guet-Apens. The fragrance was also known as No.68 (limited edition) in 2002 and then given its current name in 2005. 
*Notes are rose, violet, iris, amber, vanilla, and woody notes.


This was a challenging fragrance for me. After the first spray of this eau de parfum, the word that came immediately to mind was “NO”. I tested it a few more times, only to confirm my initial feelings.


To me, Attrape Coeur was just a giant wall of vanillic amber, crushing any possible floral notes under its heft. It was the perfume equivalent to fried bacon (which I detest the smell of), and the way its sweet oily aroma sticks in the air for hours.

To experience my initial impression of Attrape Coeur, *press play.

Then one night I had some trouble sleeping. Tired of tossing and turning, I got up and sat in the dimly lit living room, frustrated by my inability to relax. With nothing of interest on television and no desire to read, I decided to give my attention to Attrape Coeur once more. I sprayed it on and laid back on the couch. I smelled my wrist and suddenly, Attrape Coeur came alive and lit up the room..


To experience Attrape Coeur’s opening notes, *press play.

After this chypre-esque “glissando”, the violets and roses become candied, but never too sweet. Attrape Coeur’s heart beats for a few hours and then a curtain of deep velvety amber falls but the show is far from over. Attrape Coeur has powerful sillage and lasts for what seems like forever. I could still smell the drydown 12 hours later! If you like vanilla and amber, and want to wade it in for hours, then this is the perfume for you.

Unfortunately, Attrape Coeur has been discontinued. Purchasing a bottle would be a serious investment that I would recommend only to those who need Attrape Coeur like a vampire needs blood. As stunning as this fragrance is, I can live without it, but it is worth sampling to experience the kaleidoscopic opening and its amazing longevity.

*Fragrance notes provided by The Perfumed Court
*Also Sprach Zarathustra composed by Richard Strauss. YouTube user schmobot
*Glissando on Harp performed by Cecilie Coling. YouTube user colinghotstuff

