AcousticJus is the new fragrance line created by Liz Zorn of Soivohle fame. She released the AcousticJus six scent sampler in September (say that 5 times fast) with plans for soaps and lip products in the months to come.

The line has a youthful vibe, but that doesn’t mean these perfume oils smell like bubble gum and candy. There are two gourmand perfumes in the sampler (which I associate with teenagers..I MUST get past that!) but there’s also vetiver, birch tar, oakmoss, carnation, patchouli…

The scents included in the sampler are (notes provided from the AcousticJus web site):

Dominion
Incense, Lavender, Lime, Orange Blossom, Vetiver
Dominion has an aquatic quality, but it’s not the kind of aquatic you would find in gym juice colognes. It’s airy and Spring-y, but the vetiver and incense keep it from being blown away in the breeze. Lime gives the lavender and orange blossom a little punch. A good scent to wear when the dark days of autumn and winter get you down.

Piquant
Ginger, Spices, Vanilla, Gardenia
Those who know me know I generally avoid gourmand scents but I cannot avoid Piquant. I love ginger, I love gardenia and Piquant is just spicy, creamy and delicious.

I-C-U
There are no notes listed, but in their place a summary of the scent:
Black leather, cigarettes, moss and woods. Sensual bonding….
This fragrance is all about leather and smoke. I cannot judge it fairly because of emotional associations I make with the scent of leather. I have continued to sample it to see if I can get past those associations, and it is growing on me! It’s kind of sexy! If you like leather, tobacco, birch tar and bonfires, I-C-U might be perfect for you.

Shameless
Vanilla, Strawberries, Pears, Chocolate Mocha
I’ll admit, Shameless smells really good. It has a smooth quality to it, like chocolate mousse. The vanilla doesn’t make you dizzy and the fruit notes don’t smell like candy, and give the mocha a little lift. Great for a gourmand lover, but it’s not for me.

Flamenco
Roses, Carnation, Raspberry, Amber
Flamenco is liquid joy. It’s floral, spicy and a little juicy. The roses smell gorgeous, like they are still on the bush. I don’t know how Liz Zorn does it, but her roses always smell so alive.

Circa 1969
Orange, Aged Patchouli, Amber, Musk
A nice earthy patchouli with a citrus kick, and a little sex appeal. This does not smell like the local import/incense/bong shop. It’s quite lovely and would smell great on both men and women. Circa 1969 would be a great introduction to patchouli for those who shy away from it.

Can you imagine the layering possibilities? That’s a whole lotta bang for your buck! The AcousticJus Six Pack Sampler is available online from AcousticJus and Etsy.

**Samples were purchased by me. I am not affiliated with Liz Zorn or AcousticJus/Soivohle.***

