Aromatherapy tells us we can change our moods by breathing in the aromas of the essential oils of various plants, such as lavender, rose and chamomile. While I do enjoy using essential oils for that purpose, I think just sitting down and breathing in ANY fragrance that is personally pleasing can change anyone’s mood.

For me, one of the most soothing scents is the scent of tea. When I feel depressed, crabby, anxious (insert emotion here..)and I need comfort, I perfume myself with tea fragrances. My current go-to tea fragrances are CB I Hate Perfume Russian Caravan Tea and Roger & Gallet Thé Vert.

Russian Caravan Tea works great when I am sad. It starts out with bergamot and drifts into a straight-up cup of black tea. As it dries down, I start having smell hallucinations..I smell things that are not there, like lily of the valley and leather. It’s not the tea scent I expected (I thought it would be really smoky) but despite that, it’s a joy to wear.

I use Thé Vert when I am feeling irritable and tired. After the initial burst of green tea, the scent has a light floral quality. It is in “eau fraiche” concentration, so I spray with abandon, head to toe.

I want to explore more tea scents so I ordered samples of CB I Hate Perfume Cedarwood Tea, Lavender Tea and Tea/Rose. I plan on creating a sort of “Mood First Aid Kit” which will include scents to be discussed in Part 2 of Scents that Soothe My Soul. Stay tuned!

What scents give you comfort?

