I am currently reading the expanded edition of Turin and Sanchez’s Perfumes: The A-Z Guide. I was suprised to find Stetson glowingly rated, so when I was the drugstore today, I decided to give it a sniff.

I sprayed it on the tester card (coating half my hand in the process) and up wafted the tangy scent of urine. I grabbed a pile of tissues and some hand disenfectant from the makeup counter and tried to scrub the smell of my hands.

As I was recounting this to my husband he said “everything smells like pee to you!” Now, that’s an exaggeration. Not everything smells like pee to me, but many things I have smelled lately have had, to me, a urinous note!

Here are some of the perfumes I have tested recently that smell urinous on me:

Clinique Aromatics Elixir
Estee Lauder Youth Dew and Knowing
Tauer Incense Rosé
and of course, the aforementioned not-really-tested Stetson.

Is it my nose? Is it a common ingredient in all these scents? I’m thinking it might be synthetic animalics, but I don’t have enough experience smelling animalics to say.

