Although I have loved fragrances since childhood, the love did not manifest into obsession until this past spring.

I smelled something this past Spring..I don’t remember what it was, but it smelled of violets, specifically a violet bubble bath I had in junior high school. I adored that bubble bath. It came in a glass jar with a brown paper label and a twine bow. As a result of this fond memory of violet bubble bath I have turned into a pefume monster, sampling what the perfume world has to offer. I went on a quest to find the perfect violet fragrance, but so far one that suits me still remains out of my grasp. I have since moved on.

Wearing scent is a heated issue in my neck of the woods. For wearing scent, people have been kicked off buses, sent home by the boss to shower, even accused of assault! I have been working in scent-free institutions for several years, so I wear scent at home. I am perfectly okay with that. I won’t ever have to feel guity about making someone ill, I won’t have to smell someone’s ill-chosen (in my opinion) fragrance and they won’t have to smell mine.

Don’t get me wrong…I am not for a scent-free public world. The idea is terrifying to me. Smells good and bad, are indications of life and death, of the seasons, of the people, plants and animals we share this small planet with…Fragrances can keep us in the present and link us to the past.

So, without further ado, welcome to my blog about perfume.

